Random Observations and Various Rants

Asher Roth

Posted by Andrew on March 20, 2009

Roth in a recording studio.

Roth in a recording studio.

Asher Roth is preforming at the Sherman Theater in East Stroudsburg on March 26th.

That got me thinking about Roth, because as a fan of rap music I love to hear new and upcoming artists. I hit up his myspace, listened to his tracks and went on SOHH to try and got more information on Roth. Unfortunately, he is nowhere near as nice as all his hype suggests. Roth barely has any real flow and his lyrics are boring. (Right now I`m listening to “A Millie remix”) I was thinking of something creative to say about Roth but this comment on SOHH really sums up my thoughts about him.

Go through your old CD collection and look for Slim Shady LP, Marshall Mathers LP and the Eminem Show….Listen closely and imagine someone with half the talent, charisma and creativity doing a karaoke version of all 3 albums.

You’ve officially been put on to A. Roth

I really didn`t want to bring up Eminem, but it makes sense to compare Asher with him just like I would compare Fernando Martinez with David Wright or Alex Ochoa, when I think about how he is preforming in the Minor Leagues. For all the hate Eminem gets, Em is a world class rapper. His abilities and charisma are unmatched by anybody in the rap game and I grew up listening to Nas, Biggie, Wu Tang and Big Pun, so I think I know something about great rap music and rappers in general.

Asher is not a good rapper. Asher has one default flow and a definite lack of subject matter. I look at Roth as I do Soulja Boy. They both are not worth my wasting my time in listening to them or spending money to buy their music.

Leave a Reply

 
